Located at an altitude of 1350 m, at the entrance to the Păltiniş mountain resort, the wooden church dedicated to "The Transfiguration of God" was built between 1925-1927. It is made of fir wood and covered with shingles, having a style similar to the old wooden churches of Transylvania.The church and the main buildings of the hermitage were erected by a group of craftsmen from Rășinari, under the coordination of an architect.
The outer belfry, located next to the church, houses two bronze bells cast in 1927 at the former "Schact-Kantz" factory, along with a wooden and a metal bell. The iconostasis was painted by Constantin Vasilescu between 1944 and 1945. In 1975, under the leadership of Metropolitan Nicolae Mladin, the restoration works of the church began, which continued in 1982 under the supervision of Metropolitan Antonie Plămădeala. The interior fresco of the place of worship was made by Ovidiu Preoțescu in 1985.
Next to the church is the tomb of the philosopher Constantin Noica, who spent the last 13 years of his life in Păltiniș. He was buried at the Păltiniș Hermitage on December 6, 1987, the service being officiated by IPS Antonie Plămădeala.
Sursa: ro.wikipedia.org