cent. XIII, altered cent. XV
The Cistercians received unusable land, swamps, forests, from kings, princes and donors, on it they built monasteries, developed agricultural land and successfully practiced agriculture and fish farming. They were Catholics and he came to Transylvania around 1200 at the urging of the Hungarian kings.
Through hard work, they cleared the swamp and the wild forest at Cârța and to begin with, they built a simple wooden basilica. Later in the 13th century, stonemasons probably coming from France and the Rhineland created a gothic-abbey construction, in the form of a cross church and the monastery buildings in the shape of a rectangle.
Cârța was in the 13th-15th century at the center of spiritual, political and economic developments in Transylvania. During this time the monks drained the surrounding marshes, created model agricultural farms and promoted viticulture and fish farming. The abbot of the Cistercian monastery appointed priests and judges from the 10 belonging settlements.
The Cistercians lived very austerely. They worked from dawn until late at night, prayed every 3 hours, did not eat meat, did not make a fire in their rooms and spoke to each other only as necessary.
In the 15th century they prove to be more concerned with the material and luxurious life, the economic interests of the Sibiians played an important role in the decision regarding the fate of the monastery.
The last abbot of Cârța, Raymond Bärenfuss, a former monk from Vienna, was known. He is said to have been fond of wine and bear hunting.
In 1474, King Matei Corvin eventually dissolved the monastery and transferred the rights to the church in Sibiu.
The parish house is probably the oldest inhabited building in Transylvania. It was built on the site of the old canteen of the monastery. In front of the parsonage is a small fresh water canal on which a small hammermill still works. Victor Kastner, a well-known poet or slim, spent his childhood and adolescence in this house and managed to capture in verse the hammering of this mill.
The painter franz hard pine 1164 1904 original from these lands, painted drawings of the ruins of the monastery. Cal gustav welcomes 1905 1997, another son of the book comma wrote humorous stories in verse.
Text taken from the presentation board displayed in the yard
3 years ago