The Church of the Lady was built in 1683 by Maria Cantacuzino, the lady of Wallachia and the wife of ruler Şerban Cantacuzino, which is why it is called the Church of the Lady.
This is a masonry structure with a portico supported by eight stout columns and an elegant stone-carved border at the main entrance. The decorative elements of the facades include details inspired by Neagoe Basarab's church in Curtea de Argeș.
The surroundings of this monument were given by ruler Matei Basarab to Elena Cantacuzino (1611-1687), the mother of the Cantacuzins from Wallachia. Later, she divided this estate among her 12 children, including the future ruler Şerban Cantacuzino.
The church is the only remaining vestige of a vast complex of noble buildings called Casa Beizadelelor, the property of the Cantacuzino family.