Dimitrie IV Ghica, founder, member of the Ghica family, who gave the Romanian Lands nine rulers between 1659 and 1854, was the first earthly ruler after the Phanariot regime in Wallachia (1822)
Some memorable facts are connected to his name, including the stone paving of some Bucharest streets. He reigned until 1828 and died in 1855 two years after the consecration of the church. He was buried near the church wall on the south side. On his grave there is a monument supported by four women and on it is written: The stones on the streets of the neighboring fortress confess to you, traveler, what praiseworthy deeds Ghica Grigorie worked: Gentleman full of wisdom at his grave you owe the ismerenia of- submits to you.
The church bearing number 33 from the official list of cultural monuments on the territory of the S.S.R. ., is the only architectural monument in Bucharest built (by master Welty) in the Italian neoclassical style that came to us via Russia. In the country there is only one church in this style in Letcani near Lași (the round church of St. Spiridon built in 1795).
In contrast, here there is perfect symmetry with respect to both compositional axes. By sticking four shorter circular niches: two to the east (for the proscomidion and diaconion) and two to the west (for the stairs leading to the cafas).
The main axis of the composition is completed by a small porch that precedes the entrance composed of a pediment resting on four pairs of twin Doric-Tuscan style columns. The unique temple is adapted to the unusual elevation plan of the church.
The princely gilts, columns and icons from the temple and cafas show a rich decorative art with many patinated gold ornaments. At the back of the royal jilțu on the right, in a tall display case, the firman tuiuri of strengthening the reign of the rulers of the Romanian Lands by the Ottoman Gate are kept.
A large metal polychander with 24 arms and eight large silver candlesticks are another adornment of the church. The Western Byzantine joint oil painting was a rare example of good church painting executed by the Italian painter Giacomelli, who also painted the adjoining palace, for which the church originally served as a chapel. She was washed in 1927 but smoked again.
It is not known when the church ceased to belong exclusively to the palace and began to be a place of worship for the surrounding people as well; in any case, according to the ruler's will, the church and the staff were maintained by an epitropy made up of members of the Ghica family and endowed with goods from the surroundings. In 1910 the staff came under the care of the Church House, and in 1959 the church with all its heritage came under the care of the state.
During the 1940 earthquake, the spire collapsed and it was necessary to demolish it. It was rebuilt, however, without part of the original ornamental features. In the 1977 earthquake, the damages were proportionally smaller, while the repairs were more comprehensive.
Around the church are the tombs of the deceased members of this family, almost all of them being monuments of art in marble. In front of the church, under the circle of flowers, is the foundation of the former church built by the treasurer Barbu Văcărescu and his wife, Ruxandra, around the middle of the 18th century.
The bell tower and the surrounding wall (2 m high brick) are also historical monuments.
Palatul Ghica-Tei was built in the 19th century for the Ghica family, one of the most influential and wealthy families in Romania at the time.
The palace was designed by the famous architect Ion Mincu and was constructed in the neoclassical style.
It was used as a summer residence for the Ghica family and was known for its lavish parties and social events.
During World War II, the palace was seized by the communist government and used as a state guesthouse.
In the late 20th century, the palace underwent a major restoration and was transformed into a cultural center, hosting exhibitions, concerts, and other events.
The palace is now a protected historical monument and is open to the public for tours.